Conservative leaders to Congress: ‘We’re not gonna take it anymore!’

Twisted Sister — We're Not Gonna Take ItFrom Press Release


Today, 55 conservative leaders from across America signed the open letter “Vision For New Conservative Leadership.” The letter states, in part:

Republican leaders have a responsibility to better align their party’s policy stances with founding American principles, the U.S. Constitution, and the will and consent of the American people against the threats facing this nation right now. Congressional leaders represent more than merely the internal majority of their respective chambers. They become national leaders of the entire Republican Party and, when in the majority, the citizens of every state. This is the essence of self-government.

Failed leadership has profound consequences on our culture, our children, our prosperity, our security and consequently, spreads defeatism.

The letter also includes a list of expectations Americans have for congressional leadership. They are:

  1. We want a conservative vision and strategy for a prosperous future that frames a contrast with the failed progressive, liberal policies of President Obama and the Left. We want strategies that include passionate, effective messaging for getting important legislation inserted into must-pass bills, using outside allies and all possible resources.
  2. We want a unified, more effective messaging strategy that moves members and allies to go on offense together over the biggest threats to the nation. We want leaders to stop excessively using mainstream media to talk to the nation, and craft new and effective tactics that will go around a hostile news establishment.
  3. We want effective government oversight by committees who expose the lawlessness and change what is wrong with the unaccountable, growing administrative state, which abuses its citizens and drains the national treasury in the process.
  4. We want regular legislative order through committees with an end to backroom deals and special favors at the White House or in leadership offices.
  5. We want a meritocracy in Congress where partisan politics and fundraising play less of a role in highlighting Member/Senator ideas and committee assignments.
  6. We demand that you stop punishing your own team, many who are champions to conservatives. Respect your base by showing greater offense to the radical Left than your conservative base.
  7. We demand that you fight to protect political opponents of the President and the institutions that are increasingly under attack, i.e. military, law enforcement, private property, free markets, rule of law, religious liberty, etc.
  8. We demand that you force the opposition to defend their failed and harmful ideology and policies by shining a light on the damage they have done and are doing.
  9. We demand you keep your promises you made as you campaigned for office, and go full bore to stop President Obama’s fundamental transformation having lost too many months and too much trust amongst Americans already.
  10. We demand that you restore Congress’ legislative powers so it is once again a branch holding the other two branches, and the administrative state, in check.

CLICK HERE to read the full letter. It was signed by the following leaders of the conservative movement:

  • David N. Bossie, President, Citizens United
  • Michael A. Needham, Chief Executive Office, Heritage Action
  • Jenny Beth Martin, Tea Party Patriots
  • Andrew C. McCarthy, former federal prosecutor
  • Sandy Rios, Director of Governmental Affairs, American Family Association
  • Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • Dan Bongino, GOP Nominee US Senate (MD)
  • Tim Daughtry, Co-author, Waking the Sleeping Giant
  • Rick Manning, President, Americans for Limited Government
  • Former Congressman Jim Ryun, Chairman, Madison Project
  • Tim Wildman, President, American Family Association
  • Kevin Jackson, syndicated radio host, Executive Director of The Black Sphere, LLC
  • Col. Francis X. DeLuca, USMCR (Ret), President, Civitas Action
  • Joseph Farah, Editor and Chief Executive Officer,, WND Books, WND Films
  • Janet Porter, President, Faith2Action
  • Ken Benway, Lt. Col US Army Ret, Founder, Special Operations Speaks
  • Steve Deace, Conservative Review
  • Rod D. Martin, Founder and CEO, The Martin Organization
  • Sherri R. Martin, The Martin Organization
  • Nicholas Stehle, Center for the American Future
  • Hon. Jerry Melvin, President, Florida Republican Assembly
  • Hon. Sharron Angle, President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies
  • Hon. Joseph E. Schmitz, Former Inspector General of the Department of Defense; Partner, Schmitz & Socarros, LLP
  • William H. Shaker. Chief Executive Officer, Washington Marketing Group; Volunteer President, Rule of Law Committee
  • Ken Cuccinelli, President, Senate Conservatives Fund
  • Col. Rob Maness (USAF Ret), Founder, GatorPAC
  • Kenneth R. Timmerman, Author
  • Kevin Freeman, CFA, Founder, NSIC Institute
  • Joel Arends, Veterans for A Stronger America
  • Melissa Ortiz, Founder and Principal, Able Americans
  • Elaine Donnelly, President, Center for Military Readiness
  • Elizabeth Bailey, Treasurer, Friends of Becky Gerritson, Campaign Committee
  • Tim Macy, Chairman, Gun Owners of America
  • Greg Scandlen, Health Benefits Group
  • Robert K. Fischer, Meeting Coordinator, Conservatives of Faith
  • Richard and Susan Falknor, Publishers, Blue Ridge Forum
  • Vicki Dooling, Assemblywoman, District 41 Nevada
  • Seton Motley, President, Less Government
  • Colin Hanna, President, Let Freedom Ring
  • Carolee Adams, President, Eagle Forum of New Jersey
  • Kim Simac, Founder, Northwoods Patriots, Wisconsin
  • Shirley Kufeldt, Co-Founder, Northwoods Patriots, Wisconsin
  • Kelly Monroe Kullberg, Founder, The American Conservancy; Author, Finding God at Harvard
  • Peter J. Thomas, Chairman, Americans for Constitutional Liberty
  • Adelle (Dee) Park, Founder, Moore County, NC TEA Citizens and GOP Activist
  • Billie Tucker, CEO, Grassroots for Victory USA
  • Andrew Bostom, MD MS
  • Christian Adams, attorney
  • Becky Gerritson, Candidate for US Congress AL2; President Wetumpka TEA Party
  • Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell, President, Constitutional Congress, Inc.
  • George Rasley, Editor,
  • Curt Levey President, The Committee for Justice
  • Adam Brandon, Freedom Works
  • Thomas Pyle, American Energy Alliance
  • Donna Hearne, CEO, The Constitutional Coalition