Grassley responds to federal disaster declaration

Grassley-090507-18363- 0032From Press Release


Today the Obama Administration’s declared a major disaster for the state of Iowa following severe weather that occurred during the period of June 20 to June 25, 2015.  Grassley led the Iowa congressional delegation last week in writing a letter to President Barack Obama adding their support for Gov. Terry Branstad’s request for a federal disaster declaration.

“The Administration did the right thing in granting the Governor’s request.  Nineteen counties were impacted by severe storms and the response was beyond state and local government capabilities.  The declaration makes federal funds available to help these communities recover,” Grassley said.

The counties included in the request for Public Assistance were: Allamakee, Appanoose, Butler, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Des Moines, Guthrie, Howard, Jefferson, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Mitchell, Monroe, Warren, Wayne, Winneshiek, and Wright.

The severe weather produced damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail and thunderstorms resulting in flooding.

The Iowa congressional delegation’s letter to President Obama can be found here.