Branstad issues disaster declaration for four counties

Branstad 1From Press Release


Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad today issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Davis, Humboldt, Monroe and Wright counties in response to recent severe weather. The proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of severe storms that significantly impacted the counties on Monday.

In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for the four counties. The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $40,180, for a family of three.

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.